Seek A Referral

Before school developers can apply for startup grants, they should seek a referral from a Walton Family Foundation program officer or grant partner. A referral from a partner ensures the applicant meets WFF eligibility criteria. It does not imply or guarantee that a school developer will be awarded a grant.

In several states, we work cooperatively with state public charter school associations (grant partners) to create a pipeline of high-quality schools. These grant partners help process our startup grants, usually through a committee process. We have delegated authority to endorse an applicant to these associations.

If you are affiliated with a charter management organization (CMO) or school leader fellowship program, please refer to the contact list below. The foundation has special relationships with many such organizations, and we have created slightly different grant-making processes for them.

 

Charter School Growth Fund (CSGF), The Knowledge is Power Program (KIPP) & Building Excellent Schools (BES)

If you are affiliated with a charter management organization (CMO) or school leader fellowship program, please refer to the contact list below. The foundation has special relationships with many such organizations, and we have created slightly different grant-making processes for them.

If your school is affiliated with …

Then please contact ….

Any CMO that has been approved by the Charter School Growth Fund

Stephen Hinson
303-217-8345
shinson@chartergrowthfund.org

The Knowledge is Power Program (KIPP)

Liz Meehan
415-651-9488
lmeehan@kipp.org

Building Excellent Schools

Matthew Brunell
617-227-4545 ext. 213
mbrunell@buildingexcellentschools.org

Contact Information

To find your Walton Family Foundation public charter startup grant partner contact, please use the map below to select your target district.

Arizona

Andrew Collins
Arizona Charter Schools Association
602-944-0644 (Extension 302)
andrew@azcharters.org

Arkansas

Kathy Smith
Walton Family Foundation
479-464-1567
ksmith@wffmail.com

California

Karla Ward
California Charter Schools Association
213-244-1446 ext 206
kward@calcharters.org

Colorado

Kathy Zlomke
Colorado League of Charter Schools
303-989-5356
kzlomke@coloradoleague.org

Georgia

Kelly Cadman
Georgia Charter Schools Association
404-835-8916
kcadman@gacharters.org

Illinois

Anne Levy Brown
Illinois Network of Charter Schools
312-629-2063
alevybrown@incschools.org

Louisiana

Toryah Cameron
Louisiana Association of Public Charter Schools
504-274-3625
tcameron@lacharterschools.org

Michigan

Becky Carlton
Michigan Association of Public School Academies
517-999-4429
bcarlton@charterschools.org

Minnesota

Al Fan
Charter School Partners
612-418-2935
afan@charterschoolpartners.org

New York

Jill Shahen
Northeast Charter Schools Network
518-694-3110
jshahen@necharters.org

Oklahoma

Brent Bushey
Oklahoma Public School Resource Center
405-820-3619
brent.bushey@opsrc.net

Tennessee

Michelle Doane
Tennessee Charter School Center
901-237-2429
michelle@tnchartercenter.org

Washington, D.C.

Alison Collier
FOCUS (Friends of Choice in Urban Schools)
202-387-0405
acollier@focusdc.org

Indiana, Massachusetts and Wisconsin

Indiana, Massachusetts or Wisconsin:

Sarah Burns
Walton Family Foundation
charterapps@wffmail.com